DOA5LR Naotora Strategy Guide

The Spine

This is a guide more on the HOW to go about playing Naotora in a match rather than a complete breakdown. This is mostly based on my observation and time with the game itself. I'm not an expert nor do I claim to be one, this is mostly my educated opinion. If you disagree, feel free to discuss it.

Pros:
+ Relatively fast (11i/12i/14i) Kicks
+ Decent damage (Can get 100+ in a lvl 3 stun)
+ Easy execution
+ Can delay very well
+ Decent pokes

Cons:
- Below average (11i/14i/14i) punch speeds
- Poor mix-ups
- Poor neutral game
- Very unsafe
- Poor stun game
- High risk/Medium reward

So, how does Naotora work?
Naotora is a pretty passive and opportunistic character. Unfortunately, she ideally wants to stay in neutral, out-poke, and punish when an opportunity presents itself. She really cannot stay in close range or in long range. She has to stay in the middle.

Range
As mentioned before in the last point, Naotora wants to stay somewhere in the middle between close range and long range. To be exact, she wants to stay at r1f (Round 1 Fight) distance, which is ~2.00 meters. The reason being is that all of her pokes are relatively safe at this distance. Let's look at the pokes that she has, and why I said relatively safe.

Pokes at the Ideal Range
3K - This is the main poke that is actually pretty powerful at this distance. The opponent can't throw punish it and is forced to try to go for a strike punish. Whether or not it's safe for Naotora would be up to the opponent's strike choice. However, most strikes that reach 1.70+ are generally slow and thus Naotora is able to block or hold these moves with no issues in general as the move is -8 on block. Use this whenever possible at this range.