"Did you enjoy my full course of technique" - Leifang General Strategy Thread

Lobo

So the game has been out a week, lets talk some Leifang strats. First off, I'm no pro, but I have mained her since DOA2U, so I have nearly a decade of experience with her. So without further ado, lets get talking about the Tai Chi Quan Genius.

*note: I'll be looking for feedback from other Lei vets, and will be updating this post with any good stuff you guys find.

First off, I'll start with some of her changes from DOA4. Bad news first. Fortunately, Lei avoided the nerf bat for the most part.

Nerfs
- removed the last :6::P: from the string :P::P::6::P::K::6::P:. Not really too bad of a loss, the move wasn't all the great anyways. Just no more silly "will i finish it, or not" mixups. She still has :6::P::K::6::P: though.

- lost her :P::P::4::P::P::P: string. This string was useful for a little extra damage in combos. Also, with some of Lei's tools from BT, the loss of :P::P::4::P: kind of hurts. She literally only has :7::K: (which sucks) and :4::P: to reliably get into BT.

- lost the :P: follow-up to her :6::H+K: , :8::K::K:. Although, I don't really think of this as a nerf, because :6::H+K: and :8::K::K: are safe guardbreaks now, so the :P: followup is kind of unnecssary.

- :3::K: Her :3::K::P: got changed to :3::K::P+K:. No issue here, except for those who rely on muscle memory (like me) and forget to press :P+K:. The real problem with :3::K: now is that she lost the :4::P: follow up. In DOA4 :6::4::P: and :3::K::4::P: were some of Leifang's only safe moves. Now with :6::4::P: being a feint stun, :3::K::4::P: would've been an amazing move in this game. Unfortunately, Team Ninja didn't agree

Also, not really a nerf, but if you use back(:4:) to block like I used to, and you want to learn to play Leifang, you might want to pick of the habit of using hold(:h: ) to block. I'll explain why later when I'm talking about her parry stance.

Buffs