How should I use Gen Fu?

ThRiLLa1nMaNiLa

Generally speaking, what should be my mind set when using him?

My problems with him:
  • being mid countered a lot
  • being out punched by faster characters (people know his strings by heart)
  • moves whiff cause of his range
  • mobility
Additional question: Is he a defensive or offensive character? And any tips in match ups against other characters?

shunwong

I am not an expert but here are my recommendations:

1. Being mid countered a lot: Using non mid punch moves (like 1P or 9P, for example) and interrumping/being offbeat with mid punch strings. Also, always trying to land unholdable stuns (like the second P in 3PP)

2. Being out punched by faster characters. I wouldn't say he's slow. His jab is 10 frames I think and his 6P is 11 frames. Maybe you are not choosing his fastest moves?

3. Moves whiff cause of his range: With Gen Fu I like to be close to my opponent or at mid distance. 6P+K and 66P do not have bad range. 6P+K is good to punish whiffed wake up kicks. I think he's an offensive character. I try to stay on my opponent and take risks.

4. Mobility: I struggle with this too. Backdash is shit in DOA as compared to VF. I think moves like 7P or 7K (the one that flips him backwards, don't remember which one right now) are better for this purpose.

Legendary Goken

Standard Donor
Stick to 3K, P combos, 66T, 2T, 236T in between, juggle, especially if you see Holds. Go for a 3P, then Throw, or 3PP on CH if you think it's safe to a SDS then H+K into a juggle.

46P or 4PP to a 3P to pick them up

If you feel pressured, 7K or 4P or 5K or P+K or H+K

Use 16P randomly and in juggles more often, that wall damage is important

4P+K in a middle of a combo to a limbo stun, launch & juggle or 16P

Use these three at least once a round but not together, 8PP, 2K and (hold)1P+K

When you bounce them off the wall, (hold)3P and buffer into a 16P
Or
16P to bounce them off the wall and 16P again