DOA5U New to DOA5U!

Venova

Hello everynyan, I'm brand new to DoA5U - I just got it recently on ps3 due to my extreme excitement at Marie Rose's addition to the game. I really like the game alot so far, and though I'm still pretty bad, I'm hoping to learn as much as I can. Unfortunately it seems very difficult to play on PSN... I am often kicked from lobbies before I get a chance to play, or am kicked because I don't have a headset. I'm not here to chat or trash talk people, I just want to play online matches and learn the game and have some fun. I tried making my own lobby but no one joins it. Sorry if this isn't the right place for "introductions", I normally wouldn't do something like this anyways, but it seems the community isn't very welcoming. Last night I was called a bitch and kicked instantly because I didn't have a microphone, and before that I was pretty terribly trash talked for a long time in another lobby I did manage to stay in for a while. That's fine it doesn't bother me, if people have to act like that for them to feel better about themselves that's okay with me, but it's frustrating when I don't even get a chance to play because I'm kicked before I've had a chance at a single match. Is there anything I can do to maybe prevent some of this? Are they kicking me because of my skill rating? I've lost almost all of my matches so far, I'm new to 3d games and this is my first time playing DoA since DoA3 - so I'm sure I'm not much of a challenge to most players, but how can I change that if I can't play against them because they kick me? In one lobby chat the people were saying they wanted to kick another player because of their higher skill rating, but then they kick me instead. I don't really understand it, if people just want to play with their friend they should make it a private lobby.