Advice on improving

mash2780

OK so I’ve been playing DOA5LR for 50 days after getting hooked a couple of weeks in. I have zero previous experience with the series. Christie is my main and I’ve made it to D+ online but I seem to have plateaued and I’m not exactly sure what my weaknesses are. Whenever I get close to achieving a C- a couple of seemingly possessed E and F players come out of nowhere and send me back to D. Very frustrating.

Other character I like and have used are Helena and Lisa but on a much lower level than Christie.

I read somewhere on this forum that Hitomi and Kokoro are simple characters that can help with strengthening fundamentals. Would picking up these two characters improve my overall skill? Any advice on taking it to the next level is appreciated.

Awesmic

Standard Donor
I'm still learning the game, but I'll help with what I've learned anyway.

Since this is your first time playing a DOA game, and more than likely you'll want to understand some terminology when reading strats, you'll want to know some of this stuff:

Directions on the D-pad / control stick corresponds to these numbers (NOTE: 5 is not a direction):
---------------------------------------------------------------
:7: :8: :9:
:4: :5: :6:
:1: :2: :3:
---------------------------------------------------------------
7 8 9
4 5 6
1 2 3
-----------------------------------------------------------------

Face buttons correspond to these letters:

:P: = P

:K: = K

:h: = H

:H+P: = T

The DOA series revolves around a basic triangle system, or Rock-Paper-Scissors (RPS) system for 3D fighters:

Strikes beat throws.

Holds beat strikes.

Throws beat holds.