Are holds used by everyone who plays or only skilled players?

human013

From what I've seen everyone uses holds and they seem easy to do.

I come from a soulcalibur background and I'm just asking because holds seems like the guard impact in soulcalibur. This is how i think of it in soulcalibur:

Beginners usually only block (I've been playing for many years, since 3, and I consider myself in this category because I don't really care about ''guard impact'', but I'm pretty confident in my skills)
Intermediate players starts using ''guard impact''
Advance/Pros can use ''just guard'' and ''guard impact'' consistently

So I'm thinking holds fall into the intermediate category.
Is this correct?

CatzDaLegit

Tina Purist
Premium Donor
It's just part of the play style. If you can hold and go for dmg, there ya go. The thing is, people make calculated guesses and sometimes the opponent can catch onto your holding and start punishing you with high counter throws.

As far as skill goes, noobs spam counters and get thrown. Even semi to intermediate players spam low counters, which aids them cuz they get out of stuns and high attacks, but even they can get low thrown for big dmg.

I'd say generally speaking people learn to mid punch counter hold first as noobs and it's usually their first spamable one, and after that lows and highs. For some reason I think mid kicks are the most advanced and that they throw the most people off as "noob killers" because you have to press a totally opposite input compared to the others (even though then again people learn to mid kick counter because of the wake up game pretty early on).