How do you properly utilize training mode?

Katsu Hayami

Staff member
Administrator
I've been playing DOA5 for almost a month straight now and I feel like i'm still not good enough because of some loses playing with other people both offline and online. I wanted to point out a few things I do in training mode and what I learn as well and learning from other people and how they get better.

I'll be honest, I am new to the DOA community and to the game. I first tried the game at GVN Summer Jam carrying my cute pink arcade stick around and loved it. After playing a few matches at GVN Summer Jam I really wanted to learn more about the game and how to actually utilize the system properly. So after talking to a few people and finding out who were the DOA veterans like Rikuto, VirtuaPai, CyberEvil, Dr.Dogg, Mr.Wah, Mystic, Allan Paris, etc. I asked all of them "What should I be practicing and what should I do in training mode?".

There are many people that don't realize how useful training mode is. People new to the game like me would just jump into the game without thinking how robust of a tool training mode is. Most people use training mode just for combo practice but there's a lot of factors to take into consideration it can be much more than that.