Community Kotaku Beats off on Last Round

deathofaninja

Premium Donor
News Team
http://kotaku.com/dead-or-alive-is-more-than-breasts-1686627572

They basically talk about how boobs aren't important, but Team NINJA's characters need work in their personality. His example was Pai (who is a Sega property) and Kokoro fighting... I responded. Defending Team NINJA the best I could, though it doesn't seem as if the author hated the series... just didn't know what he was talking about:

I am a community writer for FSD and Dead or Alive World, and I've seen a lot of complaints over the years, and a lot of positive; but some of your complaints have already been worked on. Team NINJA has been focused heavily on the offline tournament scene for the hardcore players. They know how the game works via frame data, and environmental experimentation. For the casual audience, they focus on hairstyles, costumes and those big boobs that DOA has always been known for.

The casual audience is very important to the hardcore community. As you know Team NINJA isn't the biggest company so I see my DLC buys as donations, but some casuals buy every outfit there is. This allows Team NINJA to invest in their hardcore community as well with the Battle Royal 2015.

http://www.freestepdodge.com/threads/battle-royal-2015.5287/

They have invested thousands into the hardcore for prize pots and player sponsorship. As you can see, both audiences are getting what they want. Another clear example would be to look at the two new characters of Last Round. Raidou the villain from DOA1 returns with tough inputs and controls while Honoka is your "super copy cat chick." She appeals to the casuals.

I think Team NINJA's focus is clear, and if you don't believe that DOA has changed for the better, I implore you watch Winter Brawl tomorrow on Team Sp00ky. Not ONLY will we have higher numbers than other 3D fighters (Tekken, SC5) but we will steal the show with the talent we have there.