Helena isn't OP?

snowymoonman

I've talked about this a few times now and it seems like no one really understands how good Helena is. I'm no Helena expert, but this character is pretty much a death blender of evasiveness that can be truly soul crushing (pun) at times. I only play her as a pocket character and I mean it's just too simple to be annoying with her. The only bad match ups I can think of would be Leifang, Gen Fu, Alpha, and Mila. Christie is also in there but in my opinion the matchup between Christie and Helena is like 6-4 in Christie's favor, whereas Leifang is more like a 7-3 with her punch parry. If someone could explain to me how she's NOT good/OP, that would be much appreciated. I just think that considering she has one of the best sidesteps in the game next to Christie's and Marie Roses', that goes under MIDS... That alone can put her at #2. Just my opinion however, so by all means, change my mind with hard evidence and conviction ;)

KasumiLover

xX_APO_Prince_Xx
Premium Donor
Well for starters, she's not very powerful, you have to work for damage, and she won't get very far if you mash with her. Also, she's average in speed, which puts her at a disadvantage against faster fighters, and her holds and throws are pretty below mediocre. She can be tough to deal with, but you gotta put in that work to win with her, so she's far from being OP....she's pretty high execution though.

snowymoonman

you have to work for damage
Isn't this the case with everyone though? There are very few guaranteed situations in DOA, and her ability to fish for stuns and comboing off of normal hit lows makes it pretty easy to get damage with her. While she isn't a "Half life off a CH strike" type of character, she can open defensive people up quite easily and get some decent damage off something like 2H+K, plus she goes under most mids in the game, and her blender mixup game is outrageously strong.

KasumiLover

xX_APO_Prince_Xx
Premium Donor