Sidestepping

Dr Sexual

How is everybody liking the new SS mechanics so far?

Im finding that its still just not reliable enough at this point to be used consistently.

I bring this up because I recently started playing Soul Calibur casually and I gotta say it felt really good to be able to actually sidestep things properly. In my opinion attacks still track waaaaaay too hard in DOA5. I mean you still cant reliably sidestep the most linear, basic attack strings in the game (PPP). You may SS the first attack but you'll still get hit by the followups.

If they lightened or even removed the tracking of linear attacks do you think that would change the game too much? Like what if they went with a SC style where you needed to specifically use horizontal based attacks to step kill? Would that alter the balance of the game too much?

I know with Jann Lee he only has a limited amount of horizontal based attacks.. And most of these attacks are not his most effective as the game plays now. Would having a true SS mechanic give new purpose to these moves? Maybe add more depth to the game? Or would it further handicap/strengthen characters too much and negatively effect balance?

HiguraShiki

It isn't that the moves track, it's just that you are either sidestepping too late/early or that the string is simply too fast for you to throw out an attack after sidestepping. Most of the time you would want to double or tripple sidestep to avoid the entire string. That or you wait until the last hit and sidestep attack. Soul Calibur 5 is easier to sidestep because the strings aren't usually that long or consecutively fast.

Zeo