So how do you play this game?

Prince Adon

Best in the World!!!
Premium Donor
Stupid questions get stupid answers. Someone like you who supposedly been playing doa for this long, and other fighting games should know better than to ask such a strict question and given your history you honestly expected to be taken seriously? You can't expect to ask "how you play doa" without giving people anything to go by. Like said every character play and tackles the system differently. We can't guess who you use, or what your issue is with the game. If you wanted to be taken serious you would have provided more logical information. I have not seen even the average noob do this.

grap3fruitman

Standard Donor
Well, if you could fucking read, you'd notice that I never asked how to play DOA, I asked how to play DOA5U. Which, no, I'm not experienced in, seeing as how the game has only been out a week and I've played it for much less. How many times on DOA5 streams did you hear "So and so is playing DOA4, not DOA5"? That's the kind of difference I'm asking about but, it seems that in eight pages of responses, only one person on this entire forum can read.

Saber

Let's see...

DOA5 you go for sitdowns, wall slams...any kind of unholdable stun, really. Throw punish unsafe moves. Oh, and force techs.

DOA5U...is fundamentally the same, but it's also different. The new Bound state hardly makes a difference because only a few select benefit from it (Kokoro gets a free P+K~66P+K P+K P+K off of a Bound). You still fish for unholdable stuns and throw punish unsafe moves.

What has really changed is the ground game due to the removal of untechables (attacks that hit the opponent at the same frame they hit the ground).