Controller or Fightstick

TenshiFrost

Ive been playing Doa on and off for about a year now, and ive pretty much become familiar with my gamestop controllers D-pad, the only problem is i still cant seem to get precise inputs especially under pressure. However when i try to play with my fightstick i feel like its my first time touching an xbox with how terrible I am with it. Is a switch from controller worth it? Or is it just something that gets improved with a deadly amount of hours practice haha?

deathofaninja

Premium Donor
News Team
Just like anything else in life, you have to adapt. Make sure you have a stick worth adapting to. Some people adapt to sticks very well, and for some people it takes time. Either way I think a stick is a worthy piece to adapt to if you're a precision king.

With a controller, you are going to fuck up a lot more, and that's just a fact of life.

Pictured Mind

Controller. You know what they said about the d-pad on the xbox? It's all bullshit. The d-pad is great.

If you want to change, go ahead.

StrikerSashi

Premium Donor
If you have problems with certain inputs with a controller, then you might as well try stick. It'll take a month to get used to, though, so have fun being garbage for a while.

EDIT: Honestly, one of the biggest advantages to stick is that your form will stay for different systems. The vast majority of sticks you're gonna find being used today have pretty much the same parts. You can switch between sticks easily. If you want to play DOA2 on Dreamcast? Don't have to get used to a new controller. Just borrow a Cthulhu PCB stick.

Last edited:

TenshiFrost

Yeah I used my stick originally to play tekken better but i never knew how to transition it to doa without being garbage

Drake Aldan

Try out playing with a stick for a while. Indeed, you will lose quite a bit no matter your skill level- but give it some time. A month or three should be good.