Noob Looking for Advice

Dunk

Okay, I've been reading through the forums for the last day or two, trying to find something similar but I couldn't. I apologize if there is another thread covering this exact stuff.

So, I started playing UMVC3 a while back but couldn't get that into it. I sucked. Anyway, I'm completely new to the DoA series and almost completely new to fighters in general. I'm not sure how easy this game is to learn, and if I picked the wrong game to learn fighters on, but here I am.

I realize there isn't a quick way to become pr0 overnight. I just really like the competitiveness of these games online, and am trying to improve. I'm pretty awful. I've spent probably 6 hours in the Dojo trying to learn different combos I see on Youtube, but I lose alot of matchups online.

Anyway, here's the point of this whole post:
What advice would you give someone who is new to the fighter scene and wants to improve?

Should I go learn combos in Dojo, and then play online to try and gain experience? Who should I watch, and where's a good resource to find matches to watch of solid players? I've been trying to play Leifang, she's the most appealing to me. I've read on here she isn't very easy to pick up, but I'd really like to stick with her if I could.

Thanks in advance. Any and all advice is welcome!

dawnbringer

Play the game and don't be afraid to fail. Most importantly, when you are having problems always try to understand what went wrong and how you can improve. If there's a lot of problems, just pick some and think about them, ask here somewhere, etc. Concentrate on those select things during your matches.

Practicing combos is fun and useful, but you also need to pay attention to how you intend to land them. You need to check what opportunities you may have during a match and what combo you can land then. Do note that combos vary depending on character weight normal/counter/hi counter/back hit states, distance to wall and other things.