Some real dumb newbie questions

Belegorm

Hello all, I have had this game for about a week and after being completely confused for pretty much this whole week and losing every match until today, I'm starting to figure this game out. But I still have some oddly specific questions, and no amount of internet searching has helped me here. While I'm not that good at them, the fighting games I have experience in are SF3, SF4 and KOF. I got curious about 3D fighters so tried playing VF5FS, really liked it, except... there's hardly anyone playing so thought I'd try DOA.
Some questions

This sounds dumb, but is there a "right" way to block? In 2D fighters it's of course holding back or down back so I'm pretty used to that, but in VF5 (which fundamentally controls fairly similar, if slower, than DOA), you've got the guard button (which is for me in the exact same spot as the hold button in DOA). I feel like using the hold button to block helps me avoid walking backwards if I don't want to so gives more control, but frequently I tend to hit a direction and so do an actual hold on accident, which of course whiffs. I read somewhere that changing sidestep to 3 buttons + up or down is the "right" way to do it, I tried it and it really helped. Is there a "right" way to block?